After the Apocalypse


Just yesterday I stumbled on this animated short on Vimeo. It was the amazing @thinkgeek that sent me thataways and of late, almost all good things seem to come from there πŸ™‚

It is a beautiful film. The opening shot brought tears into my eyes, the visuals were just so beautiful and stunning. (Eeeks! I said beautiful in two adjacent sentences, there goes my vocabulary.) The film, is typical as far as post-apocalyptic tales go. We are going through a fluctuation of post-apocalyptic these day with the extremely, hyped up, soon to be released Hunger Games movie, and rightly so.

Let the games begin

There are a race of people who did not succumb to the wiles of the Twilight Saga, badly written or not, but rather sticky and they discovered the genius that is Suzanne Collins’ post-apocalyptic game show but were shouted down by those that would rather watchΒ weird, century old love between a human and two, not-so humans.

It’s our turn now.

And boy, am I giddy with anticipation and the silent, fervent prayer that Lionsgate will not mess with my Katniss!

But all that fangirling aside, post-apocalyptic is in my opinion, the most fertile grounds on which to create a novel.Β I have been toying with the idea for the last five years, but never got around to it because, well, I was going through a different form of apocalypse at the time, you must be familiar –Β high school!Β 

But now that Β I am no longer, tied down by such petty distractions, maybe I’ll sink my teeth into it and coax sheer brilliance out of the hollowed out remnants of this civilization’s man-made creations that I’m not particularly fond of anyhow.

In keeping with the topic, another set of brilliant post-apocalyptic fantasyΒ would be Terry Brooks’ Genesis of Shannara series. Long before Katniss and Peeta and love triangles, fantasy romance was simple and took second place to the plot. Needless to say, the man’s a genius but don’t take my word for it. Check out his post-apocalyptic trilogy.

I will now leave you in peace to watch this amazing short and come up with your own post-apocalyptic fantasy novels that I will then, most gleefully digest.

May the odds be ever in your favour.Β 

Let me know what you think :)

