Truthwitch + 10 Things PBR


 

truthwitch.jpg

I thought I’ll switch it up with my review of Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch by combining it with the #royalbookchallenge prompt for Day 8 which is “Book + 10 Facts.”

So without further ado, here is Truthwitch and 10 Random things about it that I loved, hated and felt utterly confused by.

I. MAPS

Truthwitch comes with a beautiful map which aids your understanding of a novel, especially if there is a journey involved. There’s also a lot more of the world to be explored. I’m particularly interested in knowing more about The Sleeping Lands.

giphy

II. THREADSISTERS

This is like a less explained, more confusing version of parabatai I think, though I am at a loss as to how one goes about acquiring thread-siblings.

Nevertheless, there is a female friendship which is not that  explored despite what it says on the back cover, but if utilised it would be absolutely fantastic!

large

III. THE BLOODWITCH

Aeduan sounds like a blast and a half, despite being rather bad at tracking when he’s like the best tracker in the Witchlands, I mean, you chased Safi for an entire debut manuscript, bloodhound, what you got to show for that?

He seems like a good lad though, one that takes his blood debts very seriously and obviously cares more than he’d like to admit. He sounds like grumpy ol’ Kags, except the uh, murdering, blood sniffing part.

tumblr_n5fwjezigm1s6gs3io9_500

IV. WITCHCRAFT

It’s a world chocka-block full of all kinds of witchery and this very intriguing phenomenon known as cleaving. However, nothing is really explained about cleaving and I would really, really, like to know a whole lot more.

And the magic itself:

Where does it come from?

Is it hereditary?

Are there purebloods and halfbloods and muggleborns?

original

V. PRINCE MERIK ❤

I ship you with myself, my precious pancake of an Admiral!

639165929

VI. CAHR ARWEN

Did I spell that right?

What is this? I keep seeing two girls posing in some sort of yin and yang battle pose, you know? But I don’t understand.

Are Safi and Iseult gods?

tumblr_m1axq3n5qo1r99f4t

VII. SAFI AND ISEULT

I feel like the writer doesn’t really know Safi, at least not when she was writing Truthwitch. Iseult is a much more dimensional character in that sense while Safi felt like an afterthought, like a character had been allowed to jump out of the canvas and run nekkid through the streets when she was still half painted.

That said, I did like Safi in the first two chapters.

VIII. MENTORS, MENTORS, EVERYWHERE

tumblr_mfi4tregyx1r124uio5_250It’s like every one of the main four characters came with their own custom, older, wiser sensei who’d wallop them upside the head and box their ears if they strayed into the wrong path.

  1. Habim – Iseult
  2. Mathew – Safi
  3. Evrane – the boys

Hah! How easy real life would be if there were Gandalfs for everybody!

XV. THE JOURNEY

A hero’s journey.

Well, two heroines’ journey.

The coming of age tale.

The regular hobbit becomes the Ringbearer; the humble farm boy becomes a Dragon Rider.

It’s a tried and true formula for fantasy and one that will always be appreciated. But when the entire first book is not a dramatised movie version of the journey but a day by uneventful day documentary?

I felt like I was waiting and waiting for something to happen but they just sailed and sailed.

pocahontas-ending-1

X. SEA FOXES

GIVE ME MORE SENSELESS KAIJU ATTACKS AND WE SHALL SAY NOTHING OF THIS!

giphy1

This post was inspired by Koffeebook’s Batool’s prompts as well as the smart, clever and concise way Cait at Paperfury organises her reviews. Hope she won’t throw pineapples at me for being a copycat! *runs*

VERDICT:

READ IT ON A KINDLE

FROM GOODREADS:

IMG_20160316_155148In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

For more bookstagram challenges go here.

🙂 Dashie

2 thoughts on “Truthwitch + 10 Things PBR

  1. You know, when Truthwitch was leading up to release it was seriously hyped. The marketing team behind it did a fantastic job, and I was really hoping this book would be the best thing since sliced bread.

    Sadly, though, about two chapters in I just… lost it. I wasn’t interested or hooked, and I felt almost left out because of how many people were praising it as 2016’s best release — I was expecting something of epic proportions and while I feel Truthwitch isn’t a BAD book by any means, it just sadly didn’t keep me hooked.

    There were so many things that weren’t really explained — you’re absolutely right when you put Threadsisters in that category. It seems like it should be some Amazingly Big Deal™ but when it comes down to brass tacks all we have is a vague idea.

    Truthwitch had great potential, but I think it may have been rushed to publish. I really hope the next in the series goes into a bit more detail and fleshes things out a bit.

    1. You put it so well… and so concisely. (Something I can never do *writes novel of explanation+) But yes, Truthwitch is something that could’ve been, which is why I will read Book 2, but I’ll probably get it on Kindle if it’s like $3.
      Thank you for commenting 🙂

Let me know what you think :)

