The 10 Book Tag Challenge


10BOOKRAG.jpg

Up until recently I was wary of doing tags because I was under the impression someone was supposed to tag you in order for you to be eligible. But I was going through Brin’s blog and I saw that it doesn’t really matter so, here is my attempt.

RULES

“List 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Do not take more than a few minutes and do not think too hard. They do not have to be the “right” books or great works of literature, just ones that have affected you in some way. Paste these instructions and tag 10 friends, including me, so I can see your list.”

I.                   A Book that made me think

All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

I think it’s because of how well he described Werner’s dilemma of whether to get involved in a fight that doesn’t concern him, just because it goes against his morals. I think it’s something we all go through, we see something that is wrong but we look away and convince ourselves it’s not our problem.

It’s easy to point out that if something is wrong and you can do something about it, then you absolutely should. But, when the situation arises and it has nothing to do with me, will I?

tumblr_mzjeezqefb1qec6u3o10_250

You can read my review, if you need more convincing.

II.                A Book that surprised me

The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Adhieh

I just wanted to read it because everyone else was reading it. As a rule, I tend to despise overly passionate romance novels, because let’s face it, that’s exactly what this book is. (The magical elements are dormant, skirting in the shadows, flashing a bit of skin then and now.) I never expected to love it as much as I do now.

Khalid is bae, Jalal and Despina need to adopt me and when she’s not being a bit of a dim bulb, Shazi is a fantastic POC heroine.

tumblr_o29kzexiar1txbd1co4_500

III.              A Book that made me happy

Airman – Eoin Colfer

The story is just perfect. If I ever need a pick-me-up, this is my go to book.

There’s aviation, small, tightly-knit families in a small tightly knit island and a boy that has to suffer through hell but comes out on top – literally – after it all. I feel all kinds of fuzzy feels rooting for Conor Broekhart.

tumblr_mwjeoah6fg1rqel4ko4_500

IV.             A Book that made me sad

Nora and Kettle – Lauren Nicolle Taylor

Is this what domestic abuse really is like? It was displayed poignantly and without pretence and it was like a punch to the gut.

Nora and Kettle are both true-to-life examples of the fates so many children are continuing to suffer through, something that hasn’t changed since before, during and after 1953.

This is one of those good sad books that you must read.

tumblr_m2d6kqwmu51qm6oc3o1_500

V.                A Book that made me feel nostalgic

The Malory Towers Series – Enid Blyton

After my recent gazillionth re-read. I miss school, I just really do.

giphy

VI.             A Book I have a love/hate relationship with

Brisingr – Christopher Paolini

I maintain again and again that this was an unnecessary part of the Inheritance Cycle which should have ended in a trilogy as previously planned. So I hate Brisingr to my very bones, but at the same time, have to include it in my re-reads because it’s part of a fantasy series that I love a lot.

tumblr_n8dh5a2rzc1twq2vno1_500

VII.           A Book that I’ve read the most

Tintin – Herge

My first crush and hero, his dog, his Captain, his nutty professor and his useless detective twinsies.

My Daddy bought me Destination Moon when I was under house arrest after contracting measles when I was 5. He read it to me, voices and all and that was the start of a long and torturous love affair with books.

escaping_from_the_karaboudjan_part_2_by_daleknek-d4sjzna5b15d

VIII.        A Book Movie that made me want to travel

Anything Ghibli – Hayao Miyazaki

I’m cheating because I don’t really have any books that are not exactly fantasy so unless I want to travel to Middle Earth and Alagaesia and Red London, I’m at a loss.

I’m a Ghibli fanatic and have a debilitating desire to travel to Japan.

tumblr_muksehsong1r4ue86o1_500

IX.              A Book that gave me all the feels

The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare

I love how Clare explores the tumult the arrival of the American girl turns the lives of parabatai Jem and Will upside down. The fantastical elements were almost background for me in this series and I am shocked because I, who prefers knives cutting to lips kissing was all over this fragility of human relationships and also the beauty of it.

All the feels!

tumblr_o17tapylbw1syh5gno1_500

X.                A Book I wish I hadn’t read

An Ember In The Ashes – Sabaa Thahir

Because no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t connect to anyone in this book but Helene Aquila. And because everyone on my Bookstagram loved it to pieces and are eagerly waiting for the sequel, I feel like the only one in the crowd that didn’t get the joke and laughs haltingly to save face. Haha…hahahaha… hahahahahaha!

giphy1

Review here.

I hope I’ve done this right?

If you have books that fit these titles, or absolutely agree or strongly disagree with my choices, let’s chat. *offers you cuppa, pushes you into a chair*

Dashie

I’m tagging my new blog friends and compatriots for this challenge;

xoxo

All the books above were bought at: Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

7 thoughts on “The 10 Book Tag Challenge

  1. Daaw! So sweet of you!! I will get on it ASAP. also I think you need to let the others know you tagged em. Tweet em I guess 🙂 I am yet to read Infernal Devices. I loved TMI so I’m guessing yes I’ll love this series too! Can you get The Wrath and the Dawn in SL? I loved Malory Towers too ^_^ Tags aren’t too bad, its a great way to get the interaction with your readers going.

Let me know what you think :)

