Beautiful People 17 ~ May 2016


10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

Once again I am linking up with this wonderful writing aid known as Beautiful People for Writers together with Cait and Sky. Thanks for this you guys, every time I get to know my characters a little better!

The gist

It’s aimed at writers so they can answer the questions about their characters and their books. It’s designed to help you get to know your book better! (And also give your followers a sneak peek of your works-in-progresses.) for more information, go to Cait’s blog Paperfury.

Who am I writing about this time?

This time, I thought I’ll explore one of my two prince brothers. I wanted to do the older one, Crown Prince Malik because I find that his rather morally questionable younger brother is very easy to write about and I know everything about him, but he’s tottering on the fine line between hero and villain (I think he wants to be the villain, but sssh! Spoilers Sweetie!) and it would be pure joy to answer these questions for him.

So Prince Nadim the Not-Heir it is.

x7qrbkf-1414588005

These are characters from my WIP tentatively titled The Sleeping Prince which is a gender-bent retelling of Sleeping Beauty started out as a gender-bent retelling of Sleeping Beauty but is now getting away from me! (#pantserlife)

1.      How often do they smile? Would they smile at a stranger?

Very rarely. But I think he’d probably be more likely to smile at a stranger than someone he knows.

2.      What is the cruelest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

That he killed his mother and is a curse, a blight, an abomination. (By his father, the Rajah) He reacted by educating himself in everything there was to know and becoming a regular voice in the Council of Elders and Political Affairs.

3.      What is the kindest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

That he is a blessing, a gift to this certain person who promises to be forever grateful and to look after Nadim and protect him. His reaction was unfailing loyalty, even though the person mentioned sort of forgot to keep their promise.

21ea9595688e18fa2c22635c8668c9dc

4.      What is one strong memory that has stuck with your character from childhood? Why is it so powerful and lasting?

When he was little, he unknowingly led someone to a place which allowed that person to take complete control over his and his loved ones’ lives. After he grew up, he began to believe to his very bones, that he was cursed.

5.      What book (a real actual published book!) do you think your character would benefit from reading?

Nadim always lugs around a massive bag packed with books and field journals of his discoveries. If there is a book, (published in his time) he would have read it. He does recommend a recently published The Poisoner’s Handbook to you though. (It’s in your universe and he hasn’t read it, but he’s heard good things.)

2016-03-30_12.06.jpg
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

6.      Have they ever been seriously injured? How severely? How did they react?

Nadim gets slapped around by his father regularly and had to teach himself to fight from scratch because he was a sickly and weak child. So he has more than his share of bruises and scars, three rather prominently on his face. He was born with a weak constitution and spent most of his childhood unable to play or run like his brother and Ruka.

tumblr_n04vs0ym7l1rn9uh8o3_500

7.      Do they like and get along with their neighbours?

Nope. But he’s very nice and kindly to the servants, remembers their names and things about their family. But to others, he’s rude and cruel. The rest of the time, he spends alone.

8.      On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being easy and 10 being difficult) how easy are they to get along with?

  1. Especially if you’re Ruka.

9.      If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Everywhere. He would see the Eternal Waterfalls at the End of the World, eat meat with the Flying Monks of the Hindu Kush, ride in the plainlands with the Nomads of the Goat People and scale the peaks of Butterfly Coccoon. He would see everything. And he would fill his journals about them.

tumblr_lrpp08qpz51qjtv6k

10. Who was the last person they held hands with?

Ruka. But it was completely unintentional and he wanted to wash his hands afterwards and he can’t believe that Dash is telling you this and he’s wondering whether to knife her in the back before she reveals something far more embarrassing.

 

That’s all folks! If you like what you read, please do leave a comment!!

giphy2

Dashie

 

10 thoughts on “Beautiful People 17 ~ May 2016

    1. Thanks so much for taking time to comment! Yes! I want him to be villainous, but I also want him to be a literate cinamon roll. I need to write his brother better though, before this ends up becoming Nadim’s story 😀

  1. Wait a minute… Gender-bent Sleeping Beauty? You know how rare that is?? And that Thor + Loki bro gif… I am genuinely excited for your novel. This is a story that I would definitely read. I love not quite hero, not quite villain characters. Will he have a POV? Oh please I hope he will. He sounds so interesting!

    1. OMG your excitement is really inspiring! Thank you! 😀 I was actually hoping to write in all three POVs but I suck at switching so for now I’ll focus on Ruka’s POV only. But this is still First Draft stage so fingers crossed hehe

  2. Genderbent Sleeping Beauty retelling (or what used to be one) sounds awesome. Don’t worry, things get away from us plotters too. Stories have minds of their own!

    So, based on the gifs and the answers I’m guessing the brothers have a Thor and Loki kind of relationship. Yusss, sign me up please. I want to spend more time with Malik. 🙂

    1. I’m not really sure how the relationship will play out, but yes! I was told once that I write good sibling relationships so no fear 😀

      There’ll be plenty of Malik too, I promise

  3. AHHH I LOVE THIS. And Nadim already seems like a precious misunderstood anti-hero dark little souled thing. ❤ Also I love how he's an 11 on the get-along-with scale. 😂 PRECIOUS. Also he seems so complex and well thought out, so kudos to you for that!! (Also he seems like he would be soooo fun to write. EEEP. The dark ones always are. XD)

    Thanks for joining in!!

    1. Haha! Your villain love is another level on another scale Cait! I hope your editing is happening, despite how much you’re crying! Because you need to get one of those villains out there for the rest of us to read!

  4. Hmmm I’m interested in why he’s kind to some servants and cruel to others? I do like the idea of a character that straddles the line between hero and villain. They tend to be the most likable 🙂

Let me know what you think :)

