TOP 10 TUESDAY // Cinda Williams Chima


top10_2

I am ever so late!!

Once again, I am linking with The Broke and the Bookish’s challenge. More details can be read here.

This post is in relation to the June 7 Challenge: Ten Reasons I Love (Author, Book, etc) 

WARNING: This is a gush post!

10 REASONS WHY I LOVE CINDA WILLIAMS CHIMA’S SEVEN REALMS QUARTET AND HER OTHER WORKS AND THE GOOD LADY IN GENERAL

I. IT’S FANTASY

‘That’s kinda obvious genius!’ You say?

True.

But what I mean is that it is the right kind of fantasy.

You know? Like I went into it expecting sword, sorcery and other forms of kick-assery and that was what I got, thank you very much!

anigif_enhanced-25758-1403817243-19

This is actually something I’ve become aware of recently. I’d go into a book judging it at face value because it’s my favourite genre – fantasy – and leave disappointed more often than not because it’s basically anything but.

II. SAY NO TO INSTA-LOVE!

Han and Raisa don’t even properly meet until Book 2 and though there is a sense of attraction earlier on, they deal with life first like real human beings.

THANK YOU!

Lately, I’ve noticed that the YA fantasy I’ve been reading veers right off course down the cliff side into the pretty blue ocean when hanky-panks are on the cards.

Uh, sorry to get in the way of your intense making out on jutty rocks but remember the universe, and it being all at stake and shit? Yeah? Helloooo?

giphy

III. IT’S A BLEEPING QUEENDOM

9294532

And one heck of a Queendom it is.

But with queens who make stupid mistakes, screw up royally, (pfft! Geddit?) and are selfish before selfless, because well, we aren’t all born loyal to the Greater Good no?

It’s a story of women and relationships and the relationships of women in power.

IV.  THIEF LORD. REFORMED THIEF LORD.

I’m not the only one that lately seems to be obsessed with thieves, pirates, the relative scum of their respective societies; made so by the unfairness of circumstance, am I?

V.  RAGS TO RICHES

I can’t say too much without majorly spoiling the entire series –  and I do really want you to read it for yourself, if you haven’t.

The story of Han Alister from his position in The Demon King to where he is at the end of The Crimson Crown is just my favourite story ever and OMG my feels!

020888b0-bbaa-0132-46bd-0e9062a7590a

VI.  THE SELFLESS SECOND LEAD

  1. So this comes directly from watching too many kdramas, but while I generally don’t like love triangles, (Disclaimer: There is no love triangle in this series. It’s too complicated! 😀 ) I do not mind the ones where the second boy has zero chance from the start.

For some reason I find their pain delicious – the tragicker their unrequited love is.

giphy1

Probably makes me feel good about myself and all those unrequited loves I’ve experienced. *laughs hollowly.*

VII.       PROTAGONIST OF COLOUR

Raisa is half Demonai – one of many clans that live in the highlands and seem Native American in influence.

There is also a vibrant and large and diverse world which Chima will also be exploring in her new series!

VIII.     DEALING WITH DEATH

Of course Chima isn’t the only writer that addresses this issue in YA, but I find myself soothed – temporarily – over and over again by this one, simple quote:

“Grief was like that.

It gradually faded into a dull ache, until some simple sight, or sound or scent,

Hit him like a hammer blow.” – The Exiled Queen

IX.         THE NON-PURPLE PROSE

I’ve said this previously in my other post. While I adore lyrical prose and spend countless hours trying to perfect it in the hopes of selling short fiction to literary magazines – so I can buy more books – sometimes, I want to introduce fantasy to my reads-only-non-fiction-friend – in the hopes of converting him and making him buy me books – or nudge my neighbour’s little girl off her reading slump – so she’ll buy more books which I can then steal.

tangled-rapunzel20singing-reading-books-animated-gif

And I need you to tell me the story directly in these times, darling, I need that!

X.           SHE’S SPECIAL ❤

Cinda Williams Chima, is my self-proclaimed (I proclaim) writing mentor!

Long ago, before twitter was a thing and Facebook was just a baby, and I was in school refusing to study for my iGCSE’s, I read the Wizard Heir and send her an email.

Back then, authors did not respond to fanmail, so I expected nothing.

And she replied!!!

tumblr_o4umyhgepl1ulfypbo3_400

Encouraging me to think about writing and thanking me for taking time to let her know I loved her stories.

It was the boost I needed to really take my writing seriously and I will always love her for it!

purple_generic_500x190

Have you read Chima? What do you think?

THE END

Let me know what you think :)

