july book haul // birthday


julbookhaul.jpg

How glorious to be able to do a book haul at the end of the month // I’d like to thank my parents for arranging for me to be born!!

Without further pathetic dramatics, let’s get right to the rather small, yet LIST of books I either bought or was actually given by angels, no less, I am so undeserving… *wails in Elvish*

giphy1

book haul

1. furthermore // tahereh mafi

I won this in a giveaway!! My first ever such prize by taking part in the dearest Caitlin’s giveaway of arcs and goodies she brought back from BEA/Bookcon. This is also the first time I’ve ever got my hands on an Advanced Reader Copy so it was a quite fascinating trip in itself for a country bumpkin. It’s so purpley and the cover is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen I tell you! And the last time I read such a fantastic twelve-year-old was Artemis Fowl in the 1800’s. So do go check it out if you get the chance!

DSCN1369.JPG

but what is it about?

Alice a colourless girl living in the most colourful, magical place and her wonderland-ish adventure through a land where magic runs wild and lawless in search of her father. It’s bizarre and the best bit is that it’s written in a way that makes you imagine you’re sitting by the fireplace, listening to a storyteller.

2. prince of fools // mark lawrence

Ok. So this may have been the result of a month of mind games and brainwashing of my neighbour’s daughter when I tutored her about how much of an ungrateful git she was and that I didn’t need her meaningless thank yous, get me a book, or something… blah, blah.

Luckily, her father got wind of it and turned up with this on my birthday. I only feel a little bit awful 🙂

No, seriously, they wanted to buy me a book and I just send them the author, ISBN and title is all, really!

DSCN1470.JPG

 

tumblr_msjp9mdz2l1shr2ugo2_500

but what is it about?

It’s epic, epic fantasy. Y’know? The original kind? A must read if you like your swords and your kingdoms. It’s also not a story about a hero but rather a coward. And a hilariously good one, at that.

I’ll tell you more after I read it.

3. salt to the sea // ruta septys

Now this has got to be my most favourite story. My friend Kat, who lives faraway in England, who I’ve never set eyes on outside of the internet, who I met, on the internet during a horrible korean drama run back in 2013 asked me for my address and a book I’d like and just sent me one!!! She is obviously not human. I will forever get fuzzies when I see the little sticker that came with the book that I pasted inside.

hey dash. happy birthday sweetie! much love k x

That horrible drama was worth it just to meet her! I just want to snuggle up and feed her chocolate and talk about books and dramas with her forever ❤

but what is it about?

It’s historical fiction. If you love WWII stories like me, and sobbed on the floor after reading The Book Thief or All The Light We Cannot See, like me, then this is for you!

4. uprooted // naomi novik

DSCN1539.JPG

 

This is a book I had my sights on since the beginning of the year, but I wasn’t really ready to throw my money at it until my good pal Reagen told me the magic words; GHIBLI!!!

Naturally I ran pell-mell down the street to the Book Depository.

tumblr_mv6ofdpdxk1sdgpnmo1_500

but what is it about?

It’s magic, man. It’s a folk tale. Read it if you loved Howl’s Moving Castle, Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Read it anyway man!

5. and i darken // kiersten white

This is the only book I really went out an bought by myself, for myself, because female Vlad the Impaler. That is all.

tumblr_n3kmlpehbs1s9qf9oo2_500

but what is it about?

Female Vlad the Impaler. That is all.

And that concludes my very happy, very bookish birth month.

Have you read any of these?

 

Dashie xx

All these books and more -> click

purple_generic_500x190

2 thoughts on “july book haul // birthday

  1. I absolutely love Salt to the Sea; it was tragic but amazing. I’m going to have to add these books to my TBR; they look amazing! Congratulations on the Book Haul and Happy Birthday!

Let me know what you think :)

