Read at Midnight is hosting a readathon focusing on diversity and on voices books, which we should strive to bring to the foreground in 2017 and I hope with much anticipation to join it.

You can read more details on her blog.

It starts tomorrow!

On the 1st of January 2017 and continues until Sunday the 15th of January midnight. You can sign up on over at Read at Midnight.

If you’re participating don’t forget to use the hashtag #DAReadathon

prompts

I. expecto patronum // read a diverse book featuring an issue of personal significance to you or a loved one.

I think I mentioned this once on my bookstagram, that I have a close friend who has been struggling with mental illness, schizophrenia for one, for a long time now. And as a child, I was rather mean to her, unable to understand or not being told what was going on with her.

In Sri Lanka, mental illness is still quite taboo and people don’t really understand it, clumping it all together as ‘going crazy’ and shunning anyone who suffers from it.

 

91kwlrwzmhl
Click to buy

 

I could go on about it, but without further stalling, I will be completing Made You Up by Francesca Zappia which thus far has been tremendously accurate in the way her schizophrenic main character thinks on page. Spot on representation!

You can buy this and all other books I’m mentioning here on Book Depository with free shipping. Please click on the book cover to be taken to the site, you’ll be doing me a favour as I will get a small commission if you buy which will in turn allow me to buy my books. Much obliged.

Made You Up is no discount right now!

 

II. expelliarmus // disarm your own prejudices. Read a diverse book featuring a marginalised group you don’t often read about.

1961209
Click to buy

I am super prejudiced against writers from my own country and it’s been subconsciously so for quite sometime. 2017 is the year I do something about it!

Karen Roberts is a Sri Lankan writer whose book The Flower Boy about a sprawling colonial family in a tea estate is so difficult to rustle up.

Apparently, it’s out of print in the country, luckily, I’ll probably purchase it from BD.

 

 

 

 

 

III. protego // protect those narratives and keep them true. Read an #OwnVoices book for this prompt.

28763485
Click to buy

I’ve only heard good things about Nicola Yoon’s The Sun is Also A Star. I’ve only read an excerpt from the Korean boy’s POV and it was hilarious and relatable.

Looking forward to getting on this soon.

IV. reducto // smash  that glass ceiling. Read a book that empowers women from all different walks of life.

daughter-of-the-forest
Click to buy

Smash the patriarchy with this book written by Juliette Marillier which comes recommended by Christine at Weereader Blog.

I know nothing about Daughter of the Forest, Jon Snow, except that it is part of a trilogy about a strong female character who I hope will not be fettered by a romantic interest and it is good old high fantasy, and high fantasy is my roots, my hometown, the place I was born.

V. impedimenta // read a diverse book that’s been left unread on your TBR for far too long!

dscn1232
Click to buy

I rarely boast of a TBR, because I rarely have a backlog of books I haven’t read yet. This is because (1.) I am a beggar and don’t know what a “book haul” tastes like and (2.) beggars can’t be choosers. So naturally, I am quite ashamed that I have Alaya Dawn Johnson’s The Summer Prince languishing on my shelf for the last two years.

But no more I say!

Here’s a short blurb:

set amid the tropics of a futuristic Brazil… In the midst of this vibrant metropolis, June Costa creates art that’s sure to make her legendary. But her dreams of fame become something more when she meets Enki, the bold new Summer King. The whole city falls in love with him (including June’s best friend, Gil). But June sees more to Enki than amber eyes and a lethal samba…And June will fall deeply, unfortunately in love with Enki. Because like all Summer Kings before him, Enki is destined to die. – Goodreads

VI. stupefy // read a diverse book that has stunned the internet with all its well-deserved hype.

My book selection for this prompt is Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee. It has all 5 star ratings on my Goodreads and also, Cait says it’s good, then there’s a 97.9% I will say it’s good too!

 

26192915
Click to buy

VII. lumos // read a diverse book that has been recommended to you by one of your fellow bloggers.

I shall cheat this one by cunningly linking back to Juliette Marillier’s Daughter of the Forest because while it wasn’t personally recommended to me, it is recommended! Hah!

dareadathon-id-slytherin

Goodnight to all, and to all, A Very Happy New Year!

 

xx

One thought on “#DAReadathon // TBR

  1. Well I’m guessing this readathon is completely over now…BUT I FLAIL WITH YOU OVER OUTRUN THE MOON!!! I’m glad you like my opinion on it.😂 It was so adorable and winning and so much food and AHHH YAY FOR DIVERSE READS! Especially by #ownvoices authors. This seems like such an incredible selection of books. I hope you had fun!

Let me know what you think :)

